2

#Fridayreads The Murder List by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Posted by mcm0704 on August 30, 2019 |

The Murder List
Hank Phillippe Ryan
Hardcover: 304 pages
Publisher: Forge Books (August 20, 2019)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 125019721X
ISBN-13: 978-1250197214
Product Dimensions: 6.1 x 9.2 inches
Shipping Weight: 1.7 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)

BOOK BLURB:  “A cracker of a read –her best yet!” — B.A. Paris, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author

Law student Rachel North will tell you, without hesitation, what she knows to be true. She’s smart, she’s a hard worker, she does the right thing. She’s successfully married to a faithful and devoted husband, a lion of Boston’s defense bar. And her internship with the District Attorney’s office is her ticket to a successful future.

Problem is–she’s wrong.

And in this cat and mouse game–the battle for justice becomes a battle for survival.
The Murder List is a new standalone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan.

REVIEW: B.A. Paris is right, this is one heck of a read. One of the things I liked most about it was that there are so many shades of gray in the story line and the characters. Reading along, it was hard to determine if there was a single “bad guy” or not. We want Martha, the ADA who has been Jack Kincaid’s nemesis for years, to be the only antagonist in the story, but is she? It’s hard to say much more about that without giving some of the plot away, and I don’t want to do that. I want other readers to keep guessing like I did and have a hard time putting the book down.

It was also nice to see the situations in the story from various points of view. The three main characters, Rachel, Jack, and Martha had the stage most often, and it added a lot to the story to get a glimpse into what was going on in their heads as the story progressed. No irritating head-hopping, just smooth transitions from one person to the next.

All in all, this was a terrific read with great suspense and drama, and I highly recommend it.

BUY LINK

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:  Hank Phillippi Ryan has won five Agatha Awards, in addition to the Anthony, Macavity, Daphne du Maurier, and Mary Higgins Clark Award for her bestselling mystery novels. As an investigative reporter, her work has resulted in new laws, criminals sent to prison, homes saved from foreclosure, and millions of dollars in restitution for victims and consumers. Along with her 34 Emmys and 14 Edward R. Murrow awards, Hank has received dozens of other honors for her ground-breaking journalism. A former president of Sisters in Crime and founder of MWA University, she lives in Boston with her husband, a nationally renowned civil rights and criminal defense attorney. She is the author of Trust Me and the Jane Ryland series, which begins with The Other Woman.

You can find out more abut the author on her WEBSITE where there is information about all of her books.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2006-2019 Maryann Writes All rights reserved.
This site is using the Desk Mess Mirrored Child Child-Theme, v1.0, on top of
the Parent-Theme Desk Mess Mirrored, v2.5, from BuyNowShop.com